The Gifts of Grief…

I know, I know… Many of you are probably reading the title of this post and thinking,

“Gifts?!?  From grief?!? Are you delusional?!?”

Let me babble for a moment please. When riding the new bike home yesterday, it struck me, I have received very specific gifts since losing Jaie to suicide. Very important, yet not recognised gifts, have been offered to me as a bereaved person. This is one important reason I love to ride. I think, reflect and have therapy, all at once.

Now prior to losing Jaie, I had been an optimist and would always look for the rainbow after the rain. After losing Jaie, I never thought it possible to even smile again, let alone feel like I could actually rise from these ashes and begin to take small, but very determined steps forward.

You see, even though I was a community orientated member of society and was more empathetic than the average person, it was still not enough to make a marked difference (at least this is what I believe). Since Jaie’s death by suicide, I have become even more. And less.

More tolerant of those who are in pain and suffering, less tolerant of spiteful behaviour and nastiness. More empathetic with those struggling and less wasteful of my time on those who try to create drama, simply for the sake of it. I no longer feel even slightly inclined to try and live any part of my life trying to ‘understand’ another view, where on some aspect of life I know for a fact they are not for me. So I refuse to waste any time or effort on them or those involved with them.

The ‘gifts’ I have received after Jaie’s death, are not gifts a person truly ‘chooses’ to accept. Because accepting them makes this grief very real, very confronting and at the first recognition of these gifts, it is emotionally and physically crippling. Recognition of these gifts mean that there is no longer any ability to deny the reality of my adored and much loved son, being dead.

Jaie’s death has provided me a strength I never thought possible for me to achieve. Well obviously, because there is no way anyone could have ever said to me, “One of your children will die and you will have to continue to live.” I would have told them “Uh Uh … I’ll be going with them, don’t you worry.”

However, here I am, almost 2 years and 2 months since Jaie died. I am still alive and fighting to survive in this changed landscape, as a bereaved mother.

So now I must continue to wield these gifts with extreme discretion and care. We know only too well the harm which can befall those of us, who we do not even know are vulnerable. I guess what I am saying is maybe the universe somehow selects some of us to be the sufferers? The bearers of trials and tribulations, so that we are provided the necessary skills and experience, to not only survive tragedy, but to make a mark in the world after it?

Trust me, I would do anything to not be a part of this club, but after experiencing firsthand, what suicide grief is like, it is not something I would wish upon another. Our future experiences will now be, forevermore, bittersweet … any happiness will always have the shadow of pain across it …

‘The Gifts of Grief’ ….. 

12670525_985804294831506_3043442465614974758_n.jpg

‘Love Sometimes Comes Like a Dream & Leaves Like a Nightmare’

 

Leave a Reply

