Reflection. Good or bad? (Article contains content about suicide. Please do not read if you are at risk or sensitive to triggers)

I do not wish anyone at risk of harming themselves to read this. I am trying to show that taking ones own life does not fix any problems. It simply passes your pain onto those you love the most.

I read this article and it threw me back to only 24 days prior to Jaie dying. I’d had the worst year ever so far. I was in a health crisis (impending major surgery), had lost my job I loved and had believed at that point that I’d lost someone precious to me, as a friend. I had been diagnosed with severe depression and put on anti depressants. And referred to the MHU in that town as priority. After attending the MHU under my gps orders that day, I was not allowed to leave until they spoke with my daughter. I was an unknown quantity to them.

I had relocated to live with my daughter. I could not stop the thoughts crashing in. I simply wanted to sleep. Forget about everything. And then ‘that’ thought entered my head. How many pills could I take just to go to sleep and not think. Once the thought had popped into my head I could not stop it returning. My mind was racing. I could not think straight. “The beach!” Was the only coherent thought I could find in the mess called my mind. I walked out to my bike. No word of any kind to my daughter who I had to walk past. Started my bike. And rode off. I almost took myself out on the first intersection. It was a monumental struggle to obey speed limits. I somehow made it to a beach I’d never been to before this day. And I sat there trying to find a door in this long hallway of black and white, which offered me hope. But all I could think was what a waste of space I was. That I had nothing to offer anyone anymore. Not my children. Not my granddaughter. Not my family. Not my friends. Nothing. And no one. And I cried. I made one phone call to the MHU/acute care team at the hospital from where I had been living prior to relocating. I refused to give a name. But the staff member who took the call twigged when I mentioned the town I was now in. She remembered me as a near intake only 2 weeks earlier. Try as she may she got no further details. I hung up on her. My last words were as much to myself as to anyone else, “it doesn’t matter.” The beach was not going to save me. Everything was washed out and lifeless to look at.

Not long after I hung up the phone rang with a blocked caller. I declined the call. Then my daughter text me. And called. I ignored her. I switched the phone off. I was stepping closer to the precipice. Figuratively and literally. People started to arrive where I was. My quiet spot of solitude became too busy. It broke me out of my reverie somewhat.

I walked back to my bike and left that spot. I must have wonderful guardian angels. It was a brief, but dangerously intense ride to another quieter location. I was still sobbing the whole time. I simply could not find a way to ‘fix things’. To make my being here seem worthwhile. My phone at this point had been off for at least an hour.

I parked my bike where it was difficult to see from the road. And I began one of the hardest struggles of my life. I was looking into the abyss and I needed to really weigh up what the loss of me would do to my children. No one else. And that was when I looked for a lifeline. It was sitting there on the seat in front of me. I switched my phone back on. Missed calls from my daughter. Missed calls from a good friend. Numerous texts from both and private numbers. I went straight to my daughters texts. I finally replied. The police had called her. Asking her where was I? My friend called just after I sent my girl a text. He was beside himself with worry. He stayed on the phone with me until my daughter arrived. After making sure we were both safe he hung up. My daughter then spent over an hour convincing me that life was worth living. She also had to contact the police who were on standby to list me as a missing person if she had been unable to locate me safe within an hour or so.

i was a single mum. Main support was my parents and some wonderful friends when my children were growing up. I fought to stay here to protect my children. By harming myself I would only be harming my precious children. They are the only reason I fought. I knew it would do irreparable damage to my babies so I fought. And I’ll say to anyone now, as dark as it may get. As difficult as it may be to fight that insidious darkness, look for someone who cares. And I can assure you they care 1000 fold more than you realise. Fight for that.

2-3 weeks was all it took me to start entering that dark place. Same as for my just turned 22yr old son. However, I do not have bipolar, my support network was close by and I was not self-medicating at all. Jaie was drinking. And alone for the first time in his life. We never knew how much he’d been drinking over that last week, until it was too late. Please, if you have any form of depression or mental health condition. DO NOT self medicate. See a professional for forms of support. I am now seeing 2 doctors and 1 psychologist. I’m on antidepressants until further notice. I was depressed before we lost Jaie. Now I am destroyed. And the thing is, if Jaie thought for one second that his death would cause us so much pain, then I doubt he would have done it. But the illness of his mind prevented him from thinking clearly. Safely. And it took him from us as effectively as cancer.

‘Love sometimes comes like a dream & leaves like a nightmare’

http://www.thenewstribune.com/2014/08/24/3344306/could-robin-williams-death-bring.html

8 thoughts on “Reflection. Good or bad? (Article contains content about suicide. Please do not read if you are at risk or sensitive to triggers)

  1. Thank you. I cried at the loss of jaie because I knew some of what he had felt. That overwhelming resignation that nothing will improve. The terror of accepting it. He would have been so scared. And no one deserves to feel so alone. Especially not our babies. My baby was all alone 😥

    Like

  2. What do I tell you, That I also attempted suicide and dropped the knife at the last minute because I thought of my children, the one in my womb, my mother and my mentally challenged brother too? What do I tell you? That I lost that same brother on August 2nd after 18 years with all sorts of diagnosis and meds and all? What do I tell you, That I know of the grief of losing a child because I lost one too and that my mother is now simply put – lost? Oh what do I tell you other than to thank you for sharing your stories like this?
    In solemn appreciation and emapthy, Marie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Marie. And I’m sincerely sorry for your loss. Of your brother and your child. And wish you much strength, love and hope for your family and for yourself.
      And thank you for sharing with us as well. It’s not easy to make sense of something that makes little or no sense when it’s being experienced. Or even afterwards when the storm has abated to some degree. Stay safe xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so sorry to hear of the burden you carry…I lost my son due to my own schizophrenia and I also “relatively speaking” lost my daughter, for she was adopted by my parents. As I sat in jail, all alone awaiting trial for this horrible act my very own hands committed, I can remember telling myself how I just wanted to die. My children were my life. I looked so forward to having a family and being a single mother to not just one, but two beautiful children. Now, that dream went crashing through the universe as hope fluttered away. All I can tell you is that after 16 years, when it comes around to the day he died, I still get down and depressed; however, I am no longer suicidal. I’m just hoping that my book will inspire others and bring them hope when they appear to be in their darkest hour.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LaVancia all we can do is try to make a difference. Try to leave as few scars as possible, as we traverse this often lonely and very painful journey, called life. I am grateful to hear that you are no longer feeling the need to put yourself in harms way by taking your own life. May you continue with Each passing day to find the strength and determination to make a change and continue to save yourself. It is not my place to judge anyone and I’m sure you have already judged yourself more than enough. So remember these 3 things …
    Be patient. Be gentle. Be kind. To yourself as well as others.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your own struggle allows for me and others to understand just exactly what our loved ones were battling. That depth of despair has also overtaken me in the past…especially since my son’s passing. There are days I just do not want to wake up…a wish to be with him. I have other family members but my love for them sometimes is overshadowed by my grief. I am torn between heaven and earth. I can fully understand how people with fragile minds and emotions can succumb to the predatory monster of depression. I am thankful that God still loves us…even more, in our weakened state. Blessings to you Jaie’s Mama.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment